Superior Training for Minimally Invasive Pain Management Procedures

Gabor B. Racz, M.D., DABPM, FIPP, DABIPP

  • Founder and Past President, World Institute of Pain
  • Founder and First President of Texas Pain Society
  • Director Emeritus, ASIPP
  • Professor and Chairman Emeritus Department of Anesthesiology
  • Co-Director Pain Center
  • Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center – Lubbock, Texas

About Dr. Racz

Gabor B. Racz, M.D. was born in Hungary and completed M.B. and Ch.B. degrees from the University of Liverpool Medical School in Liverpool, England. He served as house surgeon and physician at the Royal Southern Hospital in Liverpool before coming to the United States in 1963 for an anesthesiology residency at SUNY Upstate Medical Center, Syracuse, New York.

Dr. Racz filled numerous assignments, such as respiratory consultant in the neurosurgical head injury unit and Associate Professor at SUNY, until 1977 when he moved to Lubbock, Texas to become the first Chairman of the Department of Anesthesiology at the new Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center. He held that position until March 1, 1999 when, as Director of Pain Services, he focused his full attention on treatment of patients, expanding the operations of pain services, and the future development of an international pain institute in Lubbock, Texas.

In 1995, Dr. Gabor Racz, a founding member of WIP, pictured with the World Institute of Pain Advisory Board from left to right: Gabor Racz, Richard Rauck, Michael Stanton, Winston Parris (background center), P. Prithvi Raj (foreground center), David Niv, David Leak, Ricardo Ruiz-Lopez, Serdar Erdine, and Elliot Krames.
Dr. Racz holds the certificate of Diplomat with the American College of Pain Management as well as the American Board of Anesthesiology certification in Pain Management and the WIP Fellow in Interventional Pain Practice certification. He is an advocate for high standards of certification and training among pain physicians and works toward the advancement of those goals.

Dr. Racz has received numerous recognitions and awards from organizations around the world including Distinguished Professor Award for Lifetime Achievement from Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center and the Lifetime Achievement Award(s) from American Society of Interventional Pain Physicians. He is also listed in all editions (1992-2005) of The Best Doctors in America. Dr. Racz is widely published in book chapters, journal articles and four books describing his techniques in spinal cord and peripheral nerve stimulation, neurolysis, radiofrequency thermocoagulation and other interventional procedures. He also travels around the world lecturing and instructing workshops.

In 1956, Gabor Racz near the crumbled statue during the Hungarian Revolution.
In 1996 Dr. Racz was honored by Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center when he was awarded the first Grover Murray Professorship recognizing his distinguished achievements in the institution as well as internationally. In December 1998, University Medical Center named Dr. Racz recipient of a one million dollar endowed chair in recognition of his “greatness in patient care, teaching and research” at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center and University Medical Center.

Under his direction, the International Pain Institute at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center has grown to international prominence, attracting patients and visiting physicians from around the world. His innovative work with nerve stimulators, spinal cord stimulators, radiofrequency thermocoagulation and a wide range of other pain management procedures brings many patients referred to his care from doctors throughout the world. He is a regular faculty member with education groups such as Dannemiller Educational Memorial Foundation, Pain Net, Inc., and American Society of Pain Physicians.

In September 2015, Dr. Racz answers a question from a workshop student.
Dr. Racz is a Founder and past president of The World Institute of Pain and National Pain Foundation and currently serving on the WIP executive board. He also is a founder and first president of Texas Pain Society and director of the annual TTUHSC Pain Symposium from 1983-2012.

According to the US News & World Report, Dr. Gabor B. Racz has been Rated Among the Top 1% in the Nation in his Specialty and is listed in the Becker’s Spine Review for Top 150 Pain Management Physicians to Know.



The New York/New Jersey Societies of Interventional Pain Physicians awarded Racz a lifetime achievement award.


The University Medical Center named him to a $1 million endowed chair in recognition of his work at TTUHSC and the University Medical Center.


He received the Lifetime Achievement Award presented by the American Society of Interventional Pain Physicians.


Racz was the first recipient of the Grover E. Murray Professorship, TTUHSC’s highest award.

Contact Dr. Racz

Dr. Gabor B. Racz
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Stay Informed

Stay on top of the latest pain management news and workshop scheduling from Racz Lab.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.